2 big lessons of 2014

2014 has been an absolutely crazy and exciting year for me. I had so many incredible adventures across Australia, Asia and Europe. I’m so thankful for all the places I’ve seen, the people I’ve met and the lessons I’ve learnt. As the year draws to a close, I’ve been reflecting on some of the big lessons I’ve learnt that I don’t want to forget.

1. Nobody is perfect.

so I shouldn’t expect others or myself to be perfect

Finding a fault or weakness in someone else isn’t a reason to dislike them. Instead, it’s even more of a reason why I should love them. Also, I don’t need to be perfect. No one expects me to be perfect. It’s ok for me to fail and make mistakes sometimes.

2. Looking out for myself isn’t satisfying.

looking out for the needs of others is a lot more satisfying

I liken it to my relationship with sugar and junk food. Sweet things are cheap, convenient and taste good in the moment. But after a while they make me feel like crap and aren’t good for me in the long term. Healthy and nutritious food takes more time, effort and money but it keeps me satisfied for longer and is good for me in the long run.

Leave a Reply

